RTCA Executive Committee Announcement

RTCA Executive Committee Announcement

Thursday, May 16, 2018

The Executive Committee of the Congressional Radio-TV Correspondents’ Galleries announces Mariam Khan from ABC News will serve as its new Chair for the remainder of the year.  Ms. Khan replaces Walt Cronkite, who stepped down on May 14 upon accepting a new position outside of CBS News.  Per the Committee’s bylaws, Ms. Khan was the runner up in our 2016 election and thus elevated upon Mr. Cronkite’s resignation.  Paul Courson from Sinclair Broadcasting will fill out the remainder of Mr. Cronkite’s term on the Committee.  Mr. Courson was the first alternate in the 2017 election.  

C-SPAN’s Paul Orgel will remain Vice-Chair through the end of the year and serve as Chair in 2019.


The Executive Committee of Correspondents

Congressional Radio-Television Correspondents’ Galleries

Walt Cronkite
CBS News, departing Chair

Mariam Khan
ABC News, incoming Chair

Paul Orgel
C-SPAN, Vice-Chair

Alex Moe
NBC News

Jacqueline Policastro
Gray Television

Abigail Robertson
CBN News

Kristin Wilson

SAVE THE DATE: 74th Annual Congressional Correspondents’ Dinner

SAVE THE DATE: 74th Annual Congressional Correspondents’ Dinner

The Radio & Television Correspondents’ Association is thrilled to announce the 74th Annual Congressional Correspondents’ Dinner will occur at The Anthem in Washington, DC on the evening of Wednesday, November 14, 2018.

This year, with a new location at Washington’s newest live music venue located at the District Wharf, we are looking forward to honoring our distinguished colleagues and celebrating an extraordinary year in Congressional broadcast news coverage. We are again partnering with Washington’s leading event production and design firm, Dufour & Co, to ensure the dinner is a night to remember.

Additional information about ticket sales, the program and sponsorship will be released soon. For questions, please contact RTCADinner@dufourandco.com or call 202-873-1570.

I look forward to seeing you on November 14th!


Craig Caplan
2018 RTCA Dinner Chair
C-SPAN Capitol Hill Producer
Radio & Television Correspondents’ Association
202-873-1570 | RTCADinner@dufourandco.com

2017 RTCA Executive Committee Election Results

2017 RTCA Executive Committee Election Results



Thank you to all the candidates who ran for election to serve on the Executive Committee of Correspondents of the Congressional Radio-Television Galleries.

The top three vote-getters are elected to serve a two-year term. 

The person receiving the greatest number of votes will serve as Chair of the Executive Committee in 2019.


1.       Paul Orgel, C-SPAN                                                         178

2.       Kristin Wilson, CNN                                                         130

3.       Alex Moe, NBC                                                                    94


4.       Paul Courson, Sinclair Broadcasting                               80

5.       Noreen Nasir, The Associated Press                               55


RTCA response regarding RT Network

RTCA response regarding RT Network

The Executive Committee of the Congressional Radio-TV Correspondents’ Galleries has received many inquiries regarding our decision to revoke RT’s accreditation following their recent filing as a “foreign agent” with the U.S. Justice Department. 

In a widely reported response to our decision, RT has questioned the accreditation status of NHK, Japan’s largest publicly-funded broadcast outlet and a longtime Gallery member, asserting they, too, have registered under the Foreign Agents Registration Act (FARA).  This is not accurate.  The company in question, NHK Cosmomedia America, Inc., is a separate entity that has never been issued credentials by the Congressional Radio-TV Correspondents’ Galleries.

On Monday, December 4, the Executive Committee met with NHK’s Washington Bureau Chief at his request, who affirmed NHK has not registered as a foreign agent under FARA.

Consequently, the Executive Committee of Correspondents stands by NHK’s current accreditation status and has concluded its review.  As always, the Committee will continue to aggressively verify our members’ continued compliance with Gallery membership rules.

RTCA Executive Committee votes to revoke RT credentials

RTCA Executive Committee votes to revoke RT credentials

The Executive Committee of the Congressional Radio & Television Correspondents’ Galleries exercised its authority, as granted by the rules of the House and the Senate, to withdraw the news credentials of the RT Network by unanimous vote on November 21, 2017.

RT Network was notified of the decision on November 29, 2017. 


Executive Committee Election Notice

Executive Committee Election Notice

Petitions nominating members to stand for election to the Executive Committee of the Radio-Television Correspondents Galleries are now being accepted.  There are three vacancies to be filled. 

Any active member (as opposed to non-voting or temporary member) may be nominated by a petition signed by twelve active members.  Petitions must be submitted to any member of the Senate Radio-TV Gallery staff by 5:00pm on Wednesday, November 22, 2017.

The annual election will be held on Wednesday, December 13 and on Thursday, December 14.  The annual meeting will be held on Friday, December 15 at 12:00pm in the Senate Radio-TV Gallery.                                   

Please click here for further instructions.